BOARD OF DIRECTORS John L. Varela / Vice Chair (District 1) Barbara F. Keegan / Chair (District 2)

> Richard P. Santos (District 3) Linda J. LeZotte (District 4) Nai Hsueh (District 5) Tony Estremera (District 6) Gary Kremen (District 7)

Roceived Wy of Lioctus Hit

AUG - 1 2016

INTERIM CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Norma Camacho

OBY CRAK

CLERK OF THE BOARD Michele L. King, CMC

The Honorable Steve Tate Mayor, City of Morgan Hill 17575 Peak Avenue Morgan Hill, CA 95037

Subject: Letter of Invitation – Proposed Joint Recycled Water Advisory Committee – Santa Clara Valley Water District, City of Gilroy, City of Morgan Hill, and South County Regional Wastewater Authority

Dear Mayor Tate:

July 27, 2016

The Santa Clara Valley Water District (District) Board of Directors (Board) is seeking a process to facilitate policy-level discussions on the implementation of capital improvement recommendations from the 2015 South County Recycled Water Master Plan Update (Master Plan Update) and for other opportunities to advance the expansion of drought-proof recycled and purified water in the southern portion of Santa Clara County. The District is driven by a goal of meeting 10 percent of the County's water demands with recycled and purified water by the year 2025.

The Master Plan Update, which includes approximately \$98 million in capital improvement recommendations related to the treatment, distribution, and delivery of recycled water in South County, was accepted independently by the South County Regional Wastewater Authority (SCRWA) and District Boards in July 2016. Given the magnitude of this proposed investment, the need for a higher level of joint oversight is called for. The District invites the City of Morgan Hill to join in the creation of a Joint Recycled Water Advisory Committee (SCRWA/City of Gilroy/City of Morgan Hill/SCVWD) to facilitate coordination of implementation of the Master Plan Update recommended projects. The District suggests the committee be composed of three members from the District Board and one elected official from each of the following: the City of Morgan Hill Council, the City of Gilroy Council, and SCRWA Board.

The District currently has successful collaboration with other recycled water producer and retailers in similar joint recycled water advisory committees in each of the other three public recycled water systems in the County: the Joint Recycled Water Committee (City of Palo Alto/SCVWD), the Joint Recycled Water Committee (City of Sunnyvale/SCVWD), and the Recycled Water Policy Advisory Committee (City of San José/SCVWD/City of Santa Clara). The District looks forward to building upon our existing collaborative structure and partnership through the proposed Joint Recycled Water Advisory Committee.

The Honorable Steve Tate Page 2 July 27, 2016

I am sending similar invitation letters to the City of Gilroy Mayor and SCRWA Board Chair who are copied on this letter. To discuss the City of Morgan Hill's interest in this invitation, and at your convenience, please feel free to contact me at (408) 813-2525.

Sincerely,

Barbara Keegan Chair/Board of Directors

cc: Board of Directors (7), N Camacho, J. Fiedler, G. Hall, H. Ashktorab The Honorable Perry Woodward, Mayor, City of Gilroy, 7351 Rosanna Street, Gilroy, CA 95020

Dion Bracco, Board Chair, SCRWA, 1500 Southside Drive, Gilroy, CA 95020 kj:mf

0725i-I.docx